The Grounds of the City

4.3
1394 recensioni
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
Fino a $A40
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Australiana moderna
I tag più utilizzati:
  • Ottimo per il brunch
  • Ottimo per Pranzo
  • Casual

Offerte speciali

High Tea - $35 per person

Settle into the city and spoil yourself with all the delights of our High Tea. Our seasonal menu includes a curated daily selection of house-made sweet & savoury offerings, fresh from The Grounds very own Bakery & Patisserie.

Termini e condizioni: High tea offering is $35 per person, or $40 with a glass of sparkling wine. Bookings must be secured with a credit card (our team will call to confirm) and must be confirmed by 11am on the day of your reservation. Bookings cancelled within a 24 hour period will be charged the full amount. All details can be found at our website.

Valido per: 1 - 20 persona/e

Inizia: 18 luglio 2019

Termina: 30 novembre 2019

Disponibilità: dom 14:30-17:30
lun 14:30-16:30
mar-sab 14:30-17:30

Cosa dicono 1394 persone
Valutazione complessiva e recensioni
Le recensioni possono essere scritte solo da utenti che hanno visitato questo ristorante
4.3basato sulle recenti valutazioni
4.2
cibo
4.3
servizio
4.4
Atmosfera
3.8
Rapporto qualità-prezzo
Rumorosità · Moderata
Il 86% delle persone lo consiglierebbe ad un amico
5
4
3
2
1
Ordina per
Filtri
OT
Londra
1 recensione
Visitato 2 giorni fa
Complessivo 2cibo 1servizio 3Atmosfera 4

It was our anniversary so wanted a special breakfast. Unfortunately when we got it it was cold. We were so hungry we didn’t take it back we just ate a cold breakfast, disappointed.

Segnala
KW
1 recensione
Visitato 3 giorni fa
Complessivo 3cibo 3servizio 3Atmosfera 3

We did not get the table that was requested. Instead we were placed right by the door. We could barely hear each other talking. Service was average. Bug tails were undercooked and so tiny. I come here often but this time we weren’t too happy. I am hoping next time will be better.

Segnala
KB
1 recensione
Visitato 4 giorni fa
Complessivo 4cibo 5servizio 4Atmosfera 5

Food was amazing but it was a little too noisy to have a good conversation.

Segnala
KH
1 recensione
Visitato 5 giorni fa
Complessivo 3cibo 2servizio 2Atmosfera 4

this space is beautiful, however it took them 45 mins to bring out food out. Not ideal for a breakfast meeting and the food is a little overpriced for what it is.

Segnala
YL
1 recensione
Visitato 5 giorni fa
Complessivo 4cibo 4servizio 4Atmosfera 4

60s, scat, class, style, authentic city/country style food made with Total Love. The only thing missing is Swing dancing!

The Grounds of the City
Ha risposto 2 giorni fa

Hi there, Thank you for your review, we are really glad you enjoyed your visit! Kind regards, The Grounds of The City team

Segnala
T
1 recensione
Visitato 6 giorni fa
Complessivo 3cibo 4servizio 1Atmosfera 4

Great food and a lovely ambience. Somewhat spoiled by curt attitude of waitstaff. I understand the lunch rush is stressful and busy but that's no excuse for poor customer service.

Segnala
B
Sydney / NSW
2 recensioni
Visitato 7 giorni fa
Complessivo 5cibo 5servizio 4Atmosfera 5

I loved the food, it was fantastic, and the atmosphere and ambiance was perfect.

The Grounds of the City
Ha risposto 2 giorni fa

Hi Bommy, Thank you very much for the 5 stars and for your wonderful comments! We look forward to seeing you again very soon! Best regards, The Grounds of The City team

Segnala
JR
Sydney / NSW
1 recensione
Visitato 7 giorni fa
Complessivo 3cibo 3servizio 3Atmosfera 2

Very noisy, so difficult to have a conversation. Menus are in tiny print, so out with the magnifying glasses!
Staff, very pleasant. Tables very squashed in. Hard to slide over bench seats in non-slippery clothes! Might try somewhere else next time.

Segnala
GA
1 recensione
Visitato 7 giorni fa
Complessivo 2cibo 1servizio 1Atmosfera 3

Cold coffee, cold and very average food, poor service. Saved only by the interior. Would not recommend.

The Grounds of the City
Ha risposto 2 giorni fa

Hi Gary, Thank you for your review. I was very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit. We pride ourselves on learning from our mistakes and will do our best to address the issues you mentioned, so none of our future guests feel the same way you do. If you ever do decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to speak to the manager on duty if there are any issues with any aspect of your visit, so we can rectify them there and then. Best regards, Kat - General Manager

Segnala
w
Londra
3 recensioni
Visitato 7 giorni fa
Complessivo 3cibo 3servizio 5Atmosfera 5

I really like the Grounds so it is hard to say this but my smashed avocado this week was cold, had unripe green tomato chunks that were fridged and therefore tasteless and chalky. I've had great experiences there in the past but Monday's breakfast was very disappointing.

Service, ambiance, and everything else were top notch, as always. Food, this time around? a real downer.

Segnala
RK
1 recensione
Visitato 7 giorni fa
Complessivo 5cibo 5servizio 5Atmosfera 5

Steaks is really fantastic and pastas is also great

Segnala
SR
Montreal
2 recensioni
Visitato il giorno 11 agosto 2019
Complessivo 5cibo 5servizio 5Atmosfera 5

My favourite restaurant. Adorable decor, gorgeous lighting, the service staff are all awesome and the ploughman's vege 'salad' is the best pile of food in the city. It's not a salad lol - it's a whole plate of goodies. Get it in your face.

Segnala
M
Sydney / NSW
1 recensione
Visitato il giorno 11 agosto 2019
Complessivo 1cibo 1servizio 1Atmosfera 1

The service of the mgt was totally poor. We left a note when reserving the table to keep 3 pieces of hazelnut cake. But they didn't. The place was overly crowded, the noise level was so high. We couldn't hear each other talking. I was highly disappointed this time.

Segnala
B
1 recensione
Visitato il giorno 10 agosto 2019
Complessivo 5cibo 5servizio 5Atmosfera 5

Great fun vibe, nice food and helpful service. Gf options.

The Grounds of the City
Ha risposto 2 giorni fa

Hi Barnesy, Hi there, Thank you very much for the 5 stars and for your lovely comments! We look forward to seeing you again very soon! Best regards, The Grounds of The City team

Segnala
L
Melbourne / VIC
1 recensione
Visitato il giorno 9 agosto 2019
Complessivo 3cibo 3servizio 2Atmosfera 3

Not sure if this is the norm, but the restaurant was operating like an American restaurant whereby waiters/waitresses are responsible for certain tables only. You have to look for your specific waitress otherwise you get ignored. Even then, the service was slow and we were forgotten. Ambience was good, would still recommend to friends but would set expectation low for service quality. Food was good, except the pappardelle main.

Segnala
OT
New York
1 recensione
Visitato il giorno 9 agosto 2019
Complessivo 1cibo 1servizio 3Atmosfera 1

My meal was bland. Vegetable undercooked- inedible Chicken was minuscule and looked rare on the pink plate. Overpriced!

Segnala
RH
San Diego
2 recensioni
Visitato il giorno 9 agosto 2019
Complessivo 4cibo 4servizio 4Atmosfera 5

Gorgeous though noisy ambience. Great service and beautiful food. Quirky and delightful.

The Grounds of the City
Ha risposto 2 giorni fa

Hi Robert, Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon, so we can turn those 4 stars into 5! Best regards, The Grounds of The City team

Segnala
JD
1 recensione
Visitato il giorno 8 agosto 2019
Complessivo 5cibo 5servizio 5Atmosfera 4

Sponge cake was AMAZING. Attentive service. Noise level was LOUD. Good food.

The Grounds of the City
Ha risposto 2 giorni fa

Hi Jane, Thanks a lot for the 5 stars, we look forward to seeing you again very soon! Kind regards, The Grounds of The City team

Segnala
AS
1 recensione
Visitato il giorno 8 agosto 2019
Complessivo 5cibo 5servizio 5Atmosfera 5

Wer had a very lovely time - and were looked after very well.
Harry a super chap.
Anthea

The Grounds of the City
Ha risposto 2 giorni fa

Hi Ampy, Thanks a million for the 5 stars, Harry was thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit! We look forward to seeing you again very soon! Kind regards, The Grounds of The City team

Segnala
B
Sydney / NSW
1 recensione
Visitato il giorno 6 agosto 2019
Complessivo 5cibo 5servizio 5Atmosfera 4

been here many times and that is testament to their consistency. We had the T Bone medium and the Wagyu medium rare, perfectly cooked, onions particularly sweet which we loved, the Mozarella Salad - yes we ate the flower. They allowed us to sit early, staff was wonderful on reception, ordering and serving. the ambience is the best in the city, it is both friendly and intimate, the food outstanding. would definitely recommend and will definitely come back. No bathrooms within the premises, will need to use the lavatory near the Gym on the first floor. they have a seasonal menu and an abundant variety of gluten free and vegetarian options. Juice of the day was definitely the highlight and an overall wonderful experience. thank you team and everyone for making it extra special for us!

The Grounds of the City
Ha risposto 2 giorni fa

Hi Bianca, Thank you so much for the compliments, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again very soon! Kind regards, The Grounds of The City team

Segnala
SL
Hawaii
2 recensioni
Visitato il giorno 5 agosto 2019
Complessivo 4cibo 3servizio 4Atmosfera 3

Great service. Our main was overcooked and dry so the kitchen offered us a cake to share as compensation.

Segnala
CS
1 recensione
Visitato il giorno 4 agosto 2019
Complessivo 4cibo 4servizio 5Atmosfera 5

It is a decadent experience to have time at The Grounds in the City. We enjoyed a beautiful High Tea for a birthday celebration and were treated so well! The sparkling was beautiful, staff were attentive, and the atmosphere is unique. The birthday girl was sung to and treated to her own special cake, and as we had a booking there was no waiting in line. Just a few suggestions - that staff continually refill water glasses, and that the cream given for the scones be more a more generous quantity. You can’t have scones, jam and cream without a decent serving of thick cream! Thank you for our experience. We will be back!

The Grounds of the City
Ha risposto il 7 agosto 2019

Hi Carolyn, Thank you so much for your comments. They have been taken on board and we will do our utmost to make sure that next time you visit, everything is spot on! Best regards, The Grounds of The City team

Segnala
OT
1 recensione
Visitato il giorno 3 agosto 2019
Complessivo 4cibo 5servizio 4Atmosfera 5

Wonderful location and setting, sad that the hostess never once spoke directly to us making eye contact. The waiter was efficient and seemed genuinely engaged with customers.

The food was good not spectacular.....

The Grounds of the City
Ha risposto il 7 agosto 2019

Hi there, Thank you so much for your feedback. We take great pride in learning from our mistakes and always appreciate any customer comments, be they positive or less so. We hope to see you again soon, so we can hopefully make up for where we fell short during your last visit. Best regards, Kat - General Manager

Segnala
OT
1 recensione
Visitato il giorno 3 agosto 2019
Complessivo 5cibo 5servizio 5Atmosfera 5

Amazing ambiance. Great food. Loved the experience. Food is what you would expect - coffee is on par with Melbourne coffee. Thoroughly enjoyed everything.

The Grounds of the City
Ha risposto il 7 agosto 2019

Hi there, Thank you so much for your great comments, we look forward to seeing you again very soon! The Grounds of The City team

Segnala
SJ
1 recensione
Visitato il giorno 2 agosto 2019
Complessivo 4cibo 3servizio 5Atmosfera 5

Need to have more vegetarian options. Only 2 and 1 pasta was available . Bit latger spread could help. Thanks

Segnala
AF
1 recensione
Visitato il giorno 2 agosto 2019
Complessivo 5cibo 5servizio 5Atmosfera 4

Always consistent food is delicious service on point!

The Grounds of the City
Ha risposto il 7 agosto 2019

Hi Aiana, Thank you so much for your review. We hope to see you again soon, so we can turn those 4's into 5's! Best regards, The Grounds of The City team

Segnala
GS
1 recensione
Visitato il giorno 1 agosto 2019
Complessivo 3cibo 2servizio 3Atmosfera 4

We had to line up to get served to alert someone about our reservation because another customer was making a booking for a later date. There should have been a second person attending to other customers with an existing booking given that was a peak time during Thurs lunch.

My guest and I ordered the bouillabaisse but it was cold and the bread that came with it soggy. The prawns were also not very fresh and I couldn’t peel the shell off easily. We also ordered fries which came with a blob of Parmesan stock to them instead of evenly spread across the top of the fries (which is how I think they were supposed to be served and) so we basically had to discard that whole chunk as it was all stuck together and ate the remainder.

Overall I thought it was very overrated and overpriced and won’t be going back.

Segnala
E
1 recensione
Visitato il giorno 1 agosto 2019
Complessivo 4cibo 3servizio 3Atmosfera 5

Good coffee, great smashed avocado, below average potato hash - more like potato mash. No crisp to it at all. Below average service speed.

Segnala
AC
1 recensione
Visitato il giorno 1 agosto 2019
Complessivo 5cibo 5servizio 5Atmosfera 5

Great food, service, love the booths! Already booked to go again next week :)

The Grounds of the City
Ha risposto il 7 agosto 2019

Hi Ash, Thanks so much for a great review! We look forward to seeing you again soon! The Grounds of The City team

Segnala
M
1 recensione
Visitato il giorno 31 luglio 2019
Complessivo 3cibo 2servizio 3Atmosfera 3

Would only recommend for tea/coffee + cake. Lunch was not great and overrpriced

Segnala
OT
Sydney / NSW
7 recensioni
Visitato il giorno 30 luglio 2019
Complessivo 5cibo 5servizio 4Atmosfera 4

Great for breakfast and lunch

Segnala
KP
1 recensione
Visitato il giorno 27 luglio 2019
Complessivo 5cibo 5servizio 5Atmosfera 5

Our waiters were amazing guys and made my daughter feel so special on her 12th Birthday. We had to wait 15 minutes for our table that is the only negative but do understand you were busy.

Segnala
A
1 recensione
Visitato il giorno 27 luglio 2019
Complessivo 4cibo 4servizio 4Atmosfera 4

Cocktails were nice and the waiter was very friendly and attentive.

Segnala
AH
1 recensione
Visitato il giorno 27 luglio 2019
Complessivo 4cibo 4servizio 5Atmosfera 4

A lovely lunch. Service was wonderful and the food was lovely but could have done with a whole slice of bread rather than half. My deconstructed mocha wasn’t really very hot but the flavour was lovely.

Segnala
E
1 recensione
Visitato il giorno 27 luglio 2019
Complessivo 3cibo 3servizio 5Atmosfera 3

Unfortunately, we were seated late and missed the breakfast menu which was the purpose of our visit. Music was very loud and hard to hear even diagonally across from you! Could have been more vegetarian main options.

Segnala
ZH
1 recensione
Visitato il giorno 27 luglio 2019
Complessivo 3cibo 4servizio 1Atmosfera 5

The service wasn’t great, especially our first encounter with the service staff.

Segnala
RC
1 recensione
Visitato il giorno 26 luglio 2019
Complessivo 4cibo 4servizio 5Atmosfera 5

Ambiance was really enticing as well as the food but it's the service that topped it all.

Segnala
K
1 recensione
Visitato il giorno 25 luglio 2019
Complessivo 4cibo 5servizio 3Atmosfera 3

Lovely and beautiful food and service. Need to review the process of people lining up outside like its a nightclub at 7.30am on a cold morning!

Segnala
AF
New York
1 recensione
Visitato il giorno 25 luglio 2019
Complessivo 5cibo 5servizio 5Atmosfera 4

First time here and delighted by experience. Food was spot on, good to see healthy options. Service was excellent and ambience good, but did get a little nosiey as the crowd grew.

Segnala
CW
1 recensione
Visitato il giorno 25 luglio 2019
Complessivo 2cibo 2servizio 2Atmosfera 5

They ask you to wait by the door in the cold, but the reception isn't always attended. So some free wintery cold air for you while they build up the "we are so busy and popular" image to passersby.

Tap water station and water jug can't be touch by the customers. For OHS reasons. Wink wink. But they give you a tiny glass and water top up is less than the desired frequency. I wonder if dehydration for customers in a F&B establishment should be considered OHS hazard.

$22 for an omelette with some ingredients inside not even reaching room temperature, perhaps they had to wait for permission for entry and spent too much time in the cold air too.

If you have a corporate card probably you won't mind so much, after all you get fed and the decor is all right.

Segnala
1
2
3
35